Regulatory Agency

Illinois Department of Fish and Wildlife: (217)-782-2965

License Details


License Duration

License are valid for a year, expiring on January 31st

How to Apply

Submit a request for a permit to the Division

Take a closed-book exam and earn a score of 80% or higher. If an individual fails the exam they must wait 45 days to retake it. If they fail the exam a second time they must wait 6 months

Laws and Regulations

  • Any individual desiring to control Protected Species which are causing damage to property or a risk to human health or safety on the land of another, for a fee, must first obtain a valid Class A Nuisance Wildlife Control Permit from the Department.
  • Individual must be at least 18 years of age
  • Nuisance Wildlife Permits are not transferable
  • Permittee’s method of taking fauna must be approved by the Department. Approved methods include, but are not limited to trapping and shooting.
  • It is unlawful to fail to visit and remove all animals from traps staked out, set,used, tended, placed or maintained at least once each calendar day.
  • The use of guns shall be subject to all State restrictions.
  • Written permission is required from the landowner before any methods are enacted
  • Permittees shall describe to the persons seeking services the estimated cost and type of control methods to be used to relieve the nuisance problem and/or to alleviate damage to livestock, crops, or property.
  • The Nuisance Wildlife Control Permit must be carried on the person at all times when taking or transporting fauna and be presented, upon request, to any authorized employee of the Department or any peace officer.
  • Methods of euthanizing animals must be approved by the Department
  • All dead animals must be transferred to a licensed renderer or disposed of in accordance with the Illinois Dead Animal Disposal Act
  • All animals released alive must be re-located into suitable habitat in the State of Illinois within 24 hours after capture.

Laws Regarding Translocation

Striped skunks must be euthanized

Raccoon must be euthanized or released on the same property within 100 yards of where they were captured

The release site must be located at least 10 but not more than 40 miles fromthe capture site unless the Department grants specific authority to release animalsgreater than 40 miles from the capture site and the animals are certified disease-freeas provided for in 17 Ill. Adm. Code 630

Hunting and Trapping License

A hunting license is required if a gun is being used to euthanize the animal